top of page

A Whale of a Story

Mommy Moment…


I was reading the story of Jonah in the Bible. He was a prophet who God told to go to a particular town and speak to a particular people. Jonah straight up refused. Actually, what he did was, book a trip on a ship going the complete opposite direction from that town, because he didn’t want to do as God had asked.

Crazy, huh? I thought so. How could he make excuses to God? Did he really believe that God would change His mind?

Then it got real…

God reminded me of several times when I had done similar things. I ran away from what I knew He wanted me to do.

Being a farmer’s wife… “I’m not going to talk to him. He won’t want me. I’m not a farm girl.”

Being a good parent… “God, I can’t do this. I know nothing about babies.”

Helping on the farm… “I can’t drive that tractor! I can barely drive my little car!”

Gardening… “I don’t need a garden. I kill plants! I can’t garden!”

Homeschooling… “No. I am Dyslexic, ADHD, unorganized, and not smart enough!!”

Being kind to someone who hurt me… “Why should I be nice to them? They were mean. I have NO reason to be nice!”

Speaking kindly to my children when I’m upset… “I was JUST mad.” “I was JUST tired.” “I am doing the best I can.”

Or a common excuse for anything, “You love me just as I am. Why should I change?”

Hmmm…

I began to see that I should reread the story of Jonah and see just how that all turned out for him. You know what? God loved Jonah anyway, but He didn’t let it go, and He didn’t change His mind.

That’s just how things have worked in my life too. In every situation, God has waited for my heart to catch up to what God was asking me to do. He didn’t change HIS mind. He changed MY heart. He has always been patient with me, but He hasn’t changed what He was asking me to do.

Through it all, I have learned that truth is truth… whether I like it or not. If He has asked me to do something, then He knows I can do it. He knows everything. He has a plan, and He wants the best for me. When He asked me to marry a farmer, be a good mommy, help on the farm, raise our vegetables, teach our children, be kind, or speak nice He was right there to help me, but I had to step up and move in the right direction. Running the opposite way got me nowhere. Making excuses only brought negative consequences.


I am so thankful that He has been patient in leading me in my walk with Him. I am super grateful that He never had me swallowed by a great fish. I’m also grateful that I don’t live near an ocean… He probably WANTED to have me swallowed, so I would sit still for a minute and listen.


Mommy, you got this!!





12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page