top of page

Preparation Over Emotion

Mommy Moment...


Our first two kids were (and are) good friends. They played together all the time.


They had these huge Raggedy Ann and Andy dolls that they drug all over the house! If they weren't playing with them they were often out in the play house together.


Occasionally, I would hear them fussing at each other or arguing over something. I'd remind them that if they couldn't play nice with each other then they couldn't play together. Then I'd put them in their respective rooms and shut their doors. I'd return to whatever I had been previously doing and wait. In five minutes or less they would be sneaking down the hallway to the other one's room. They'd play quietly together the rest of the day.


I didn't grow up with siblings in the house (mine are much older than I am). As a parent, I had no reference as to what was normal. I prayed a great deal about this. It really bothered me when the kids didn't get along. God helped me see that I set the standard in our home. I got to make the decision as to what behaviors were allowed. In our home screaming -for any reason- is NOT allowed. Fighting is not allowed; although you can be mad, you just can't be disrespectful. There are several basic standards of behavior that are expected here.


It may seem silly, but I'd encourage you consider what behaviors you expect from your kids, and make a corresponding list of consequences. Then, emotion won't get the better of you in the moment.


Mommy, you got this!


Mother is the heartbeat in the home; and without her, there seems to be no heart throb. Leroy Brownlow
4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page