top of page

Single: Looking For a Match

Mommy Moment…


Socks!! I have a love/hate relationship with socks. When there were thirteen of us living here, I must confess, it was more of a hate/hate relationship.


I need socks. We all do. My feet get so cold all the time that I must have socks. But to be honest, there are times when I wish they had never been invented.


When the kids were little, about every six or eight weeks, the top drawer of my dresser would be filled to overflowing with unmatched socks. You know, those socks that get washed one week but the match doesn’t get wash until the next. Honestly the second one might have been found under the couch or outside somewhere weeks after the first one was washed. But on Saturday when we were doing our weekly cleaning, I would assign one of them to get out the “socks drawer.” The “lucky” kid was expected to match the socks in the drawer to the best of their ability.


It’s actually a great job for little ones. It helps teach many skills. Matching socks is great for learning colors, comparing sizes, and the dexterity needed to fold socks is perfect for little hands.


When thirteen people were here, that drawer would fill in only two or three weeks. Red, green, pink, white, tall, short, fuzzy, and smooth socks filled the drawer. Everything from infant sized socks to Caleb's extra large men's socks were in there. Danielle did her best to keep track of her kids' socks, we all tried, but socks seem to have a mind of their own.

Of course, I wouldn’t remember to check the drawer or match all those socks every week or two, but instead I would find myself shoving more and more sock into the drawer. Soon it wouldn’t close all the way and I would have to deal with them. I thought I would lose my mind because of the unmatched socks.


My kids would argue that I had lost my mind long before then. LOL


I have no trick or good advice on keeping track of socks… well… unless you just stop allowing you kids to wear socks. I guess that might solve it.


Mommy, you got this!!



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page