top of page

The Five Ingredients

Mommy Moment...


Most of us struggle to keep up on house work. As I've said before if one thing was completed, something else was left undone.


But to help me out, my dear husband took on the task of putting our kids down for naps. Which meant I had time to clean up lunch and maybe wash dishes...or sit down for a moment of silence.


The kids loved it. It was a highlight in their days to get to lie down with Dad. I truly mean that! He made it a game. He'd spin them around and throw them on the bed. They'd laugh and jump back up to have him do it again. He might do it two or three times and then he'd say, "Ok. It's nap time." And, they'd lay right down. He'd ask them what were the "Five ingredients"?


They'd reply, in this order...

  1. Be still

  2. Close your eyes

  3. Hold my hand

  4. Be quite

  5. Go to sleep

And, they did. He never had a bit of trouble. They LOVED taking a nap with him. I was always in awe of this routine. He wound them up, made them giggle, and yet they'd go right to sleep.


In your parenting, I'd recommend making a game out of anything that you can. Whether it's napping, cleaning up toys, or scrubbing the toilet. Make it fun somehow and they will be happy... and obedient.


Mommy, you got this!


Father and son taking a nap
3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page