top of page

A Spoiled Cow is a Happy Cow

Mommy moment…

If you’ve been reading these stories, you may recall that we had a milk cow. (We have one now, too. She is not being milked right now) Honey was the first milk cow we had. She was a beautiful little Jersey cow. When Jenna and I bought her, we were absolutely clueless about milk cows. Thankfully she was an easy keeper.


That may be a bit misleading. She was a lot of work, but we loved the work and we loved her. She fit into our family well, because she was a “city girl.”


She wouldn’t get up before the sun. She got cranky if not fed on time. She’d stand as close to the house as she could and would beller outside our window if we were late. And I guess she didn’t like dirt, because she kept herself perfectly groomed. I can think of only a few days when she came in to be milked with any dirt on her.


Another indication that she was a “city girl” was she didn’t like to drink dirty water. It’s true. If there was anything in her tank that shouldn’t be, she would refuse to drink… for DAYS. Everyone said, “Oh, she’ll get thirsty. Don’t worry. She’ll drink.”


NOPE.


Once, I had to put a different heater in the tank. She wouldn’t drink out of it until I remove the “foreign” object from her water. She stood right next to it a bellered… Loudly.


Did I tell you that she was just outside our bedroom window? Well, she was. I always knew when she was unhappy about something, because as soon as she could hear or see me in the window, she would start in complaining. I think she stood there just waiting and watching for me.


Danielle had ducks here for a while. Ducks love water. The cow hated ducks in her water. She went several days without drinking. Finally, I just took out a five-gallon bucket full of water several times a day. I couldn’t let her go without water, and there was no keeping the ducks out of it.


Oh, I know. You don’t have to tell me. She was a spoiled little princess of a cow. LOL I may not have raised spoiled children, but I sure raised a spoiled cow.


Mommy, you got this!!


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page