top of page

Be Open For Where God Is Leading You

Updated: May 14, 2020

Mommy Moment...

When I was in high school I planned on being a teacher. I was allowed to walk to the elementary school to help in kindergarten classes. I assisted the special-ed teacher at the high school. I loved helping kids learn to read, to see their faces light up when they read their 1st real sentence. Helping 16 and 17 year old's learn the multiplication tables for the 1st time is amazing as well. No thanks! I had several reasons...excuses honestly.

The day I took Danielle in to register for 3rd grade, she cried. "I thought you were going to homeschool us, " she pleaded. My heart broke and my defenses dropped.

Devin was a bright child! He could read and write well by this time. If we had read him a story once, he could recite it back to you. Math, writing, memorizing, it didn't matter. He could do it. Sitting still was a different story. Man, he was a busy kid! ADD, ADHD or busy boy. He would've been labeled. Instead he did academic work in the mornings and ran outside the rest of the day. He worked with Curt and drove every piece of machinery. He actually can visualize any page he has read and is better than any APP at finding Bible verses. God used Danielle's words to stop me and make me think.


Devin was too bright for our school system. He would have been bored, or he would have caused trouble. And so, we began. I ordered books and we started the school year as new homeschoolers.

I am ever so grateful that God kept pushing, showing me that I needed to homeschool, that I could, and that the kids would do well. We sewed quilts and baked. We grew crystals, raised snails and created science experiments. And, we did academics, too. I wouldn't change that decision. I have no regrets!

It may not be homeschooling for you, but be open for where God is leading you. He wants the very best for you.

When Devin was 18 or so and away at a college. He called one day to tell me he was glad we had homeschooled, and that I shouldn't even consider putting the younger 3 in public school...EVER! I love that kid.

Mommy, you got this!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page