top of page

Farm Life

Mommy Moment…


Farm life is the best!!


Until it’s not.


The neighbor had agreed to let a third party spread the manure from their pens onto the field across from our house…normal farming practice. It’s not ever been an issue. We are used to…ummm… shall I say…the fragrant parts of living on a farm.


I have no idea why it was different, but something was different…extremely different. It was FULL of flies! The very next day the eaves of our home were BLACK. They had always been white, but the morning after the neighbor spread that field, truly they were quite black. The flies were so thick! It was absolutely disgusting.


I had never ever seen anything like it. I thought I would lose my mind. We couldn’t open any window or door without being inundated with flies. I tried spraying Raid around the windows and doors. That worked…for a hot second. I tried the farm insecticide. That was more successful, but left dead flies an inch deep between the screen doors and the main doors. -Yuck


Thankfully, this happened after the kids were a little older. Danielle was married and Devin was on his own. Kali was off visiting a friend in another state. So that left only Jenna and Caleb here to suffer with me, and they were teenagers. No littles were running in and out of the doors letting in flies. Thank goodness.


One day I was so exasperated, I had Jenna and Caleb get in the car. We were going SOMEWHERE. Somewhere without flies. We drove to Cabela’s… an hour and a half away. It was a lovely day.


Ridiculous? Maybe, but I kept my sanity.


There was a positive that came from this. The neighbor felt so bad about the entire incident that he gave us two baby pigs and the food to feed them. Now, you might not think that was a blessing, but we sure did. The kids loved raising them. Baby pigs are adorable! I think we named them Hammy and Porky. Once they were grown, we had the best sausage, pork chops and bacon ever!


Totally made up for the weeks of flies.


Some of our greatest blessings may not look like blessings at first. Sometimes great blessings are hidden in the midst of the hard things we go through. I sure didn’t think of those flies as a blessing but having a freezer full of meat for the following year truly was a huge blessing.


Mommy, you got this!!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page