top of page

Find the Joy

Mommy Moment…


“Can you scare Daddy?”

“Blow harder. You gotta scare Daddy”


That right there may not make much sense, but imagine I am standing in front of little Danielle, holding a Kleenex up to her nose. Now it makes sense.


Runny noses are yucky!! Littles aren’t usually bothered by them, but snotty noses are not my favorite thing about motherhood. When little ones have runny noses, trying to teach them to blow can be tough. They usually sniff instead of blow at first. Then, once they do learn to blow, it never seems to have much force behind it. But…Curt and I discovered if we could make it a game the kids could successfully blow their noses. We used this… correction… I still use this technique on littles today.


“I bet you can’t blow hard enough to scare me.”

“See. That didn’t scare me.”

“OH!!! That REALLY scared me!”

The little guy who spends Wednesdays with me now has heard this several times. He loves the game! He scares me every time (wink wink).


Its so much more pleasant to make it fun. “Bet you can’t scare me.” Is so much nicer than, “Blow your nose!” “Can you scare Daddy?” is way more fun than, “Take this Kleenex to Dad and have him blow your nose!”


Look for joy, Sweet Mommy. Its there. Making a task into a game will add joy to your heart and theirs.


Mommy, you got this!!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page