top of page

Gotta Do What You Gotta Do

Mommy Moment...


When I started dating Curt I really was a "city girl" I hadn't ever been on a working farm, never driven a tractor, never run a shovel. Most of our dates revolved around him irrigating his fields. He didn't have those big sprinklers that you see. He had a 3 ft wide open ditch that ran along the top of each field and aluminum tubes that worked like straws to carry the water from the ditch into the rows in the field.


One night when we stopped to moved the tubes to different rows we found that the ditch had washed out, and water was rushing out into the field. Curt quickly assessed the situation and told me he would have to "set a canvas". I thought he was speaking in some foreign language or making up things. Then he hands ME a shovel and tells ME to fill in the break while he goes to shut off the water. Again with the foriegn language!

There I was in the dark all alone with this shovel. Water is POURING out of the ditch. I'm shoveling, but it's washing the new dirt away faster than I can fill it in. I don't know what to do! I don't want to disappoint Curt. I can't shovel any faster. I'm not strong enough to scoop more dirt on the shovel. What could I do?! Panic. I panicked! Actually, I sat in it. It worked, don't laugh.

Curt laughed PLENTY when he returned. Sometimes you just gotta do what ya gotta do; It might not be pretty, but you just do it anyway.

Mommy, you got this!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page