top of page

It's Okay To Mess Up

Mommy Moments...


I have a talent for doing outrageously silly things.


Once while doing some work in our church I picked up a donut to snack on. Somehow, I leaned down to take a bite and poked myself in the eye with the donut (who does that?).

I jokingly say that all our kids are Christians and have a strong prayer life because I cook.


I have a gift for forgetting things. Sometimes I leave out an ingredient, like the oil that was needed in the bread I made yesterday. Other times, I have left the last pan of cookies in the oven. When you do that they look like charcoal and even chickens won't eat them (not that I'd know that personally).


My family has learned to offer grace and share in the humor of my mistakes in the kitchen.


Dani was making a cake for us one day, but mixed up ingredients because of similar packaging. Her cake had no baking powder, but had a cup cornstarch instead. She was a bit upset about ruining the cake. We fixed it by adding the baking powder and adjusting the liquids. She baked it and it was just fine. We laughed afterwards. I think she may have been eight or nine. I'm so glad she had seen me make mistakes, so she could deal with making one herself.


Jenna says I don't hold the bar of perfection up too high. I'm actually truly pleased to hear her say this- It means they know it's ok to mess up.


Mommy, you got this.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page