top of page

Leave It at the Foot of the Cross

Updated: May 14, 2020

Mommy Moment...

It was spring. Dani was 6. She wanted to dress up for something at school, but didn't want her shoes to get muddy walking up our driveway. She decided to wear her black irrigation boots over her shoes. She came home in tears! The older kids had teased her. My heart broke. I had been terribly teased as a child. This brought up all those years, all those tears, and all that pain.

I comforted her. I struggled not to make her pain my own. I desperately wanted to keep her from the kind of pain I had suffered. We talked about those kids' hearts. They hurt her, because they hurt.

In the end we decided that Dani would not wear those boots again. If necessary I'd drive her up the driveway, so her shoes would not get muddy. When she started out the door the next day to meet the bus, I looked down. There she stood in her black boots. I was overwhelmed with emotion. "Dolly, you don't have to wear those. I will take you!" "Mommy. It's THEIR problem." She turned and started out the door. My past made me who I am. I can't change my past. God protected me in so many ways. I am oh so grateful for His care. In this moment I had a choice. I could dump my past on my baby girl, or I could leave it at the foot of the cross. For me, that choice came up several times.

Satan loves to attack where you have a weakness. This day I hugged her, kissed her, sent her on her way, and sat down and cried. I prayed desperately for God to protect her from those kid's. I prayed for her to be strong. I cried some more.

No one tells you how hard it is to be a mom. There is no training, other than on the job training. I have learned that the Creator of all, loves my kids even more than I do. If I will turn to Him in prayer, trust Him, and listen to Him. He will guide me and help me. I know He loves you and your children as well.

Mommy, you got this!


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page