top of page

One Tall Blonde...


Teaching our kids to work hard was easy. They could go with Curt on any given day and learn what it was to work hard. They knew from the time they were little that there is a joy and a pride that comes from hard work done well.


As they reached their teen years, we wanted them to learn a few other skills. Skills like working with the public and serving cantankerous customers for one. Working with people with whom you have nothing in common for another. We knew that an entry level job in customer service would teach them necessary life-long lessons.


Danielle, Jenna and Caleb all started off working in the fast-food sector. All three of them learned the skill that we hoped they would…and then some. They had great experiences and grew in so many ways while working those first jobs. Devin and Kali both worked retail at local farm and ranch stores. They too, learned valuable life lessons on how to deal with co-workers and customers.


I loved to pop in and see them while they were at work. Not that I wanted to interrupt or “check-up” on them. I just wanted to encourage them and let them know I was proud of them. I might stop by with some baked treat or maybe just wave at them while I paid for my purchases, but I let them know I cared.


I’m not so sure Danielle always appreciated my visits. You see she worked fast-food. I knew the owners and most of the kids that worked with her. I would load up the rest of the kids... and sometimes a neighbor kid too, and we would go through the drive thru. We didn’t order off the menu though. When the voice asked, “What can I get for you today?”


“We’d like a tall pretty blonde. Please.”


We’d hear the voice shout, “Danielle! Your family is here!” LOL


Danielle would wave or lean out the window to talk to us as we drove around to the pick-up window. She felt loved. We brightened the day of everyone working with her, and the littles got to see their big sister at work and quite enjoyed it. Win/Win/Win


Encouraging your kids as they begin to find their own way in life and become independent is important for their hearts…and for yours. You may not be able to "order a blonde" but you can find a way to encourage and uplift.


Mommy, you got this!!



17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page