top of page

Who Do You Want Them To Be?

Mommy Moment...


I watched a video today. It was only a few seconds long. It made me cry. Our youngest grandson is 7 months old. In the short clip he is army crawling. He is so adorable!


Thing is, it made me remember my own sweet babies at that age. All of which could climb up and out of their cribs at that age. They could barely crawl, but they could escape out of their crib in no time at all.


You see, my mom taught them to do so. She LOVED her grandkids. When they were just tiny she exercised them and played with them all the time she could. Teaching them to pull themselves up by grasping her fingers as soon as they had control of their hands.

Oh, how she enjoyed them! I think she loved the idea that I'd have to stay on my toes once they were crawling and climbing. Oh, she wasn't malicious in any way. She was just thrilled to be a grandmother.


My mom was killed in a car wreck 22 years ago. I still miss her. There are moments in time that I wish I could share with her. Moments like today watching that video. Moments like seeing my family gathered together playing games. Moments when I wish I could ask her questions.


Mommy, as you look at your sweet babies, ask yourself who you want them to be. Not, what do you hope their career will be, but what type of person do you want them to be?


My mom poured all she had into raising four wonderful kids. She came from an abusive home, yet was a great mommy. She taught me all she could about caring for others and being a good person. From that beginning, I have been blessed to raise our five kids to be not only good people, but people who love and serve God.


Again I ask, who do you want your kids to be? How are you going to help them become the person you hope they will be?


Time is short. Love them well!


Mommy, you got this!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page